Oregon does not have a close-in-age exemption. Because there is no such Romeo and Juliet law in Oregon, it is possible for two individuals both under the age of 18 who willingly engage in intercourse to both be prosecuted for statutory rape, although this is rare.
What states have a close in age exemption?
The following states have a close in age exemption: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Indiana, Iowa, Maine, Mississippi, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont,
What is the close in age exemption?
Sexual consent New South Wales, Victoria, the Australian Capital Territory and Tasmania have laws that provide a legal defence for someone having sex with a person under the age of consent if the two people are of similar ages. This is known as a close in age defence.
What is the close in age rule?
Close in age exceptions This means that if the partner is 5 years or older than the 14 or 15 year old, any sexual activity is a criminal offence. There is also a close in age exception for 12 and 13 year olds.
Can a 15 year old date a 20 year old in Oregon?
There are no laws about dating. There are, however, extremely strict and specific laws about who one can have sex with. It is against the law in Oregon to have sex with anyone who is under age 18.